New Measures to Strengthen Border Control to Tackle the Spread of Novel Coronavirus

May 25, 2020

1. Additional designation of areas subject to the entry ban

Designating the entire areas of 11 countries listed below^{*} as areas subject to the entry ban. Banning the entry of foreigners who have visited the areas within the last 14 days unless there are special circumstances.

* Afghanistan, Argentina, India, El Salvador, Ghana, Guinea, Kyrgyz, Tajikistan, Pakistan, Bangladesh, South Africa

Note 1: As a consequence of the designation above, 111 countries and regions are subject to the entry ban in total.

Note 2: Foreigners with the status of residence of "Permanent Resident", "Spouse or Child of Japanese National", "Spouse or Child of Permanent Resident" or "Long Term Resident", who have departed Japan with Re-entry Permission by May 26, are treated, in principle as persons in special circumstances. This, however, is not applicable to foreigners who depart Japan on or after May 27. The "Special Permanent Resident" is not in the scope of the entry ban.

2. Strengthened quarantine

Conducting PCR tests for arrivals who have visited the countries listed in paragraph 1 above within 14 days prior to their entry into Japan.

3. Continuation of the border measures currently being implemented

Renewing the period of strengthened quarantine, visa restrictions, restriction on airports/ports for passenger aircraft (and ship) arrivals and measures to curb the number of arrival passengers by flight to Japan to be implemented until the last day of May, which was decided at the 32nd meeting of Novel Coronavirus Response Headquarters held on April 27, and implementing them until the last day of June. The period can be renewed.

The measures described in paragraph 1 and 2 above will be implemented from 0:00 am (JST) on May 27 and remain in place for a period. The measures will also be applied to those who will depart before the launch of these measures and arrive in Japan after their introduction.